starting strength gym

Thread: Massey's Starting Strength Log - Tall, lanky student looking to get bigger

Default Massey's Starting Strength Log - Tall, lanky student looking to get bigger

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hello,
    This is my first ever log and would appreciate all the help, critique and advice I can gather (harsh is better than none at all!) .

About me
    Short version: I like a no waffle, common sense and scientific approach to training

I am a mechanical engineering student from the UK who is currently doing an exchange year abroad in Sweden. I therefore have limited money and time ( a lot of work this quarter!) however I don't like excuses and am willing and determined to do what I need to gain strength and size. I am interested in the science (especially mechanics) of starting strength and am the type of person who spends hours and hours researching anything before I do it. I therefore choose starting strength due to the no waffle, just do it approach which is backed up with seemingly sound bio-mechanics and common sense. I purchased SSBT back in April 2014 and read it however was unable to bring it with me to Sweden but have some rough notes I made from it.

Stats (19/09/2015):

Height: 6ft 4 (193cm)
    Weight: 83 kg (183lb)
    Build:Tall and Lanky

Background
    I played rugby and did lots of running as a kid/teen. Have done gym training on and off for a year or two. Last year I even did starting strength for a while and was making progress but not taking it as seriously as i should have due to a lot of other time commitments. Have had a few minor issues with my lower back throughout the years, mainly due to tall thin frame.

Goals
    Want to gain mass however I feel that the best way to go about this is to first get a solid strength foundation - hence starting strength.

Current Training
    Gym