starting strength gym
Page 1 of 11 123 ... LastLast

Thread: fencer's absolute novice log

Wink fencer's absolute novice log

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    INTRO

Hey all. I thought I would join the forum and start a log to keep track of my progress. I am 25, 6’1 tall and weigh 73 KG (always been on the skinny side). Despite being a stranger to the gym I’ve always loved sport and am a naturally athletic guy (but not a naturally strong one). My main sport is fencing. I compete at a national standard and have a decent ranking, but my goal is to reach an international level. SS actually seems like the perfect base for S&C as squats and cleans are perfect exercises for fencing. My body seriously lacks strength in certain areas and has many muscle imbalances which are holding me back.

OBSTACLES:

Knee pain: Right now I have a very serious case of Chondromalacia patella in both of my knees. I’ve seen a physiotherapist, done the exercises and it’s only helped a little. This condition will no doubt slow my squatting progress down but I will aim to do what I can and keep up some light physiotherapy alongside it. If this fails to cure them my only remaining option surgery.

Fencing (Competitions & Training): Outside the gym I have 3 fencing sessions a week (although I am cutting down to two due to my knees – and whilst fencing I am resisting movement as you are always in a partial squat in fencing). I also have around 10 competitions a year but they are often concentrated meaning some months I have 2 in a row and other times I have a couple months off.

GOALS: