starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Post 100 mile ultramarathon log

Default Post 100 mile ultramarathon log

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    As the title implies I recently competed and completed a 100 mile ultramarathon run in SC. It was easily the hardest thing I have ever done, and I'm looking forward to getting back on track lifting.

I am 20 years old, 6'1 200 lbs and I have extraordinarily long arms. My athletic career has consisted of playing basketball at a high-level, but that has been put aside as I start the next phase of my life. I am a sophomore at the US Naval Academy.

All time best numbers:

Squat: 400 (early 2015)
    Bench: 225 (early 2015)
    Deadlift: 455 (early 2015)
    100 Meter Dash: 11.1 seconds (early 2014)
    1 mile run: 5:15 (late 2014)
    100 mile run(crawl?): 35 hours 24 minutes (late 2015)

Back to lifting: 10/18/2015

Squat 1x5 315 (no belt)
    Bench 1x5 195 1x5 185

Summary: Had the PRT (max pushups, situps, 1.5 mile run) yesterday so just put up some numbers today as a starting point for improvement.
    Last edited by John Guerra; 10-19-2015 at 10:26 AM.

11.1 100 metres?

That's some ability. Will follow your log with interest.

Good numbers on the bar and also very impressive about the 100 mile run!

What made you do the ultra?

Derf: Thanks, but it's all relative. Roommate is on the Varsity track team and runs 10.56 seconds without ever having trained properly.

Bergstedt, 3 Reasons:
    1. Raise money for the Special Operations Warrior Foundation
    2. Test myself mentally
    3. I haven't heard of anyone completing a 100 mile run while lifting any appreciable amount of weight.