starting strength gym
Page 1 of 16 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Valkyrie Strength log

Default Valkyrie Strength log

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    I had been lifting for about 4 years, first focused on "functional fitness" then NROL. In early 2015 I discovered the simplicity and beauty of SS and began the novice linear progression. I moved to TM too early when my squat stalled, but after attending the Starting Strength Seminar in Seattle in October I returned to novice LP, deloading significantly to address form. Wolf has been coaching me online since then.

I'm female, 40 (for 10 more days), 180lb, 5'11"

I have some joint issues including SI pain and significant ligament laxity allowing for voluntary, if terribly uncomfortable, shoulder dislocation.

Yesterday's workout:

squat: 180x5,5,5
    press: 77x6,5,5 - lost count on the first set
    dead: 240x4 - broke fifth off the ground but missed the rep
    chin: 6 - wasn't planning to chin but wasn't ready to be done working

goals:
    - 300lb squat
    - 10 chins
    - becoming an SSC

And from prior workout:

bench: 130x5,5,5

I hope you reach your dream. We need more good certified coaches. I love your title. Wagner was quite a composer. Post a video when you have opportunity.

Last day of vacation, third workout at the only gym within an hour with a power rack.

squat: 185x5,5,5
    bench: 133x5,4,5 - missed rep in the second set was a fuel issue. I ate a bar and decided to get the third set and did. Really eager for a one plate bench
    chin: 5,5,5

joint notes:
    I don't power clean bc of shoulder instability.
    Some lingering right shoulder pain after a dislocation while deadlifting at the seminar in October was made worse by a hard fall on it a few days ago. Twinges while getting the bar on my back to squat,otherwise OK.