starting strength gym

Thread: Keep Fighting the Good Fight

Default Keep Fighting the Good Fight

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Coach,
    Just wanted to drop you a line. I am a SpEd Behavior Teacher and started as an assistant coach for the school’s powerlifting team December 1. Our season pretty much just ended, with one of our lifters finishing 14th in the state for his weight class. This kid was out for over a year due to an injury when he started lifting with us in December. Anyways, the head coach, who is, obviously, really a football coach had a long conversation with me the other night. He, basically, said that in the last 4 months, I have completely upended his thoughts, ideas and what he thought he knew about strength training.

I will rewind a bit. When the season started, the first training day was a complete cluster. It was just bad. I watched the hour and a half progress, went back to my room, put my head in my hands and pondered. I emailed him and told him we needed to move the kids to a basic LP and laid out what that would look like, how it would progress, and how much time it should take. I expected a “yeah? NO.” response. It took him a while, but a day or so later he replied and said, “let’s go with it.”

We proceeded to run kids on a basic LP as best as I could navigate within the demands of meets. Additionally, he agreed with me about moving all of them to low bar, moving all of them to conventional dead lift, and he agreed to allow me to program the Press.