Hello folks!

I'm a firefighter and have been with the San Antonio Fire Dept for almost 7 years now. I grew up skinny and weak, never lifting weights but opting instead for lots of basketball, sand volleyball, and patellar tendonitis. I entered the training academy at 6'1 and 145lbs in 2009, and after 6 months of boot camp-esque PT every day and running the FAD (SAFD FAD - YouTube) twice a week in our bunker gear, I graduated at 172lbs.

After doing Crossfit for a few years and dabbling in occasional weightlifting and olympic lifting, I realized I wasn't getting stronger and was getting injured too often. I'd strain my back picking up patients incorrectly, screw up my shoulder doing kipping pullups, or any number of other things. Through reading various articles and doing research, I eventually stumbled on Starting Strength in 2013 and devoured the content, reading it cover to cover in a few days. I started the program and focused on getting strong (while being pigheaded and still doing Crossfit) and put on a decent amount of strength and mass the next year, adding another 13lbs to round out at 185 with a 245 squat, 325 deadlift, 215 bench, 145 press, and 195 C&J.