starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: MinusHD's Novice Progression Log

Default MinusHD's Novice Progression Log

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hello, Starting Strength Forum! I'm new to Starting Strength and new to lifting. I've come from the other side of the "fitness goals" spectrum, having been told by my doctor to lose weight or get on the meds to control all the terrible health metrics. I lost a fair amount of weight by counting calories (and eating better foods in general), walking, jogging and using a "60-day" workout DVD just to be active. What lead me to SS was getting fed up with having to eat like a bird and attempting to maintain some arbitrary "goal weight". The weight ultimately started fluctuating quite a bit. Plus, my right knee kept swelling after jogging, so my doctor and my chiropractor told me I should just stop doing it.

After searching for other options for getting/staying fit I came across Rip's "The Case for Starting Strength" lecture. I knew I had found something I wanted to try to improve my own strength and fitness and gobbled up as much info as I could about SS on the web. I found a copy of "The Book" (1st edition) and read it as quickly as I could. Then a friend bought me a copy of the 3rd edition and the DVD. Then I found a local gym with the proper equipment and couldn’t wait to get started in the gym and to introduce myself on the forum.

Last night began the 3rd week of my novice progression. Here's how things have progressed through my first 7 workouts:

Height: 5’8’

Date range: 04/04/2016 >>>> 04/18/2016

Weight: 170 >>>> 174
    Squat: 85 >>>> 140 - 5x3
    Press: 65 >>>> 80 - 5x3
    Bench: 75 >>>> 100 - 5x3
    Deadlift: 155 >>>>210 - 5x1