starting strength gym

Thread: m_hoop Joins Cult, Chases Numbers

Default m_hoop Joins Cult, Chases Numbers

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hey guys and gals,

So, I think I've come to a realization that only can be achieved with age and a reasonable amount of humility - I'm a novice. I've been exercising one way or another since college. At one point or another, I've put up some reasonable numbers; 255 bench press at 135lbs, 325 deadlift at 140lbs, never over a 265 squat. I lifted weights, I ran a lot (military, hooyah), all that stuff. But it was just exercise. I fell victim to the 'program schizophrenia' mentality and couldn't stick with anything. When you pair that with me being relatively underweight and constantly chasing that with no success, it was an exercise in wheel-spinning. As long as I can remember, I've wanted to tip the scales at 160. A strong, relatively lean 160. Not 'shredded' or 'ripped' or whatever the phrase is, but strong. 160 has always been the goal and I don't think I've ever been close. I bought Rip's book, I'm reading it now (along with the forums), and today I started lifting (the right way). Goal here is to maintain the accountability to a program for more than the three or four weeks that I usually take to get tired of something. Hopefully, if I can get final cut to cooperate, I'm going to have my last set posted for form progression each workout. Missed it today because the wife and I decided to watch Revenant instead. Whatever.

Stats:
    Sex: Male
    Follicle status: bald. Quite bald.
    Weight: 140lbs even, today.

Day 1 (One) - Squat, Bench, Deadlift, Chins

Squat:
    165 x 5 x 3

Bench:
    145 x 5 x 3 (this started at 155, but I overestimated)

Deadlift:
    205 x 5 x 1

Chins:
    13, 10, 7 - underhand