starting strength gym

Thread: Weght loss TM

Default Weght loss TM

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hello Jordan,

Just a bit of background i'm 5'7 175 lbs currently doing Texas method 4 day version.
    Current lifts in kg are 162 x 5 singles squat, 175 x 3 deadlift 110 2x3 bench 65 x3 OHP
    I have been lifting for 18 months now and I think I have my diet under control when it comes to eating enough.

Now I have competed last few months in a powerlifting meet in the 83 kg category and I really enjoyed it I am wondering if it is possible for me to maintain my lifts and mange to go down to the 74 category? Am I being unrealistic in my goals?

Thank you in advance and sorry if this was asked before.

Could you do it? Sure, probably- but that's probably not the best use of your time. You have more room to get stronger and see what your BW does. I'd bet you'd be a better 83 if you filled out the weight class (and likely an even better 93). Or you could toil around in the 74kg class and see guys who are 5'4 at your bw set records.

Well the only reason I am going down because everywhere (Lyles forum, some of your posts and powerlifting to win) I look from a nutrition point of view they say that if you are above 20% bfat that you should reduce the weight and then bulk back up as something to do with your hormonal profile (honestly out of my depth here) so I thought if I decreased my Weight class to 74 and saw how I performed and then bulked back up to 83 I might be at a better starting point for getting more lean body mass.

Sorry if this is stupid nutrition is one of those things that is black magic to me.

I think at your level of training you'd be best served by not cutting. If you were further along in your training, cutting may be the right choice.

Cool, I hate cutting as well since on Texas method it's quite a nightmare and causes me to get PMS like symptoms.