starting strength gym
Page 1 of 10 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Starting Early

Default Starting Early

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Just finished high school, and just starting Starting Strength! I actually started last week on the 31st and I'm on my 4th workout now, but I thought I may as well start posting my progress on the SS forum.

Height: 5' 11''
    Weight: 165 lbs
    Starting weight:
    Squat: 95 lbs
    Press: 65 lbs
    Deadlift: 135 lbs
    Bench: 85 lbs

I've had some prior experience lifting in the 5 rep range before, but it was mostly just farting around in the weight room. Weights feel very light even after the 4th workout. Read SSBBT and PPST3, along with Mean Old Mister Gravity.

June 7, 4th workout (Not including warmup sets)
    Squat: 125x5x3
    Bench: 95x5x3
    Deadlift: 165x5

Feels great! The hardest part is the milk. My parents are vegan-ish, so it's tough to convince them of the whole GOMAD thing. Drinking a whole gallon is not as hard as I thought.

Welcome! You're in a great spot to begin seriously strength training. Alot of us wish we new about SS when we were in high school/college! We look forward to the seeing you progress. Let me know if you have any questions.

Welcome aboard. I second Adam's reflection that many of us wish we had known about SS much earlier. I did not start until I was 66 but have made admirable progress over these three years.

You didn't mention where you are from but it is good to find an SS coach. He can correct any errors you might make early on. Then visit him/her from time to time. You many wish to post some videos either here or in the technique section.

Welcome. Good job getting started. Just to piggyback off what Carson said, if you can't get to a SSC or training camp, it's a good idea to record your workouts and get your form checked. The sooner the better.