starting strength gym
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Avatara's training log

Default Avatara's training log

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hello all! I am new to Starting Strength, in fact today was my second workout. I am 29, female, 5'7", 174lbs, and 34% body fat. I also just gave birth and am a month postpartum.

I dabbled in linear programming about six years ago using StrongLifts 5x5. It is basically a ripoff of SS (although I didn't know that at the time), except with five sets instead of three and no power cleans. I stayed with it for about three months, getting up to about a 170lb squat, 220lb deadlift, 65lb overhead press, and 150lb bench press. I ultimately quit for several reasons, namely that my squat form had been flawed from the get-go and I was getting to a weight (approaching body weight) where it could no longer be ignored. In retrospect I believe my main problem was that my knees were caving in and my stance was probably too narrow, but instead of doing a drastic deload to rebuild my form from the ground up I got discouraged and stopped the program. Secondly, I was doing GOMAD throughout the program (it made a lot more sense when I was 23!), and although I did gain a substantial amount of muscle, I also gained an equally substantial amount of fat. As the workouts and the milk went on, I kept getting fatter and fatter, and my self-consciousness about it sealed the deal on me quitting once the squats started to crumble.