starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: APH84's novice log

Default APH84's novice log

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Did my first workout yesterday (28/8/16) after a couple of weeks practising in the garage with a wooden pole and reading SS.
    I am 31 y/o, 6'1", 95kg and ~24% bodyfat. I've never done proper strength training before but I was a reasonable rugby player at uni. Nowadays I could be described as "fluffy" round the edges.

So I ended up with the following work sets:
    Squat: 40kg 3x5
    Press: 25kg 3x5
    Deadlift: 50kg 1x5

I think I was pretty wimpy and could've gone heavier, and it seemed subjective as what counted as "reps starting to slow down". But I didn't want to push it until I'm more confident my form is good, so far I'm just videoing myself on my phone as I go.

So we'll see where I get to. I'm still checking out which is the best local gym to use, yesterday's doesnt have a proper power rack. Also I work shifts including nights so I'll have to be adaptable to get my 3 workouts in each week. Finally, I'll see how it goes with diet, I dont think I need the 6000kcal and GOMAD designed for the 18y/o sparrows...

Welcome! Keep up with the program and you'll see the weight increase pretty fast.

2nd session (first workout B)

Sq 45x5x3
    BP 60x5x3
    DL 60x5x1

Good news, the other local gym has a better set up and the guy that runs it is an Olympic weightlifter. He was really helpful and is going to go through the clean with me when the time comes.

Still all feels a bit light. I'm sure in a couple of months it's going to feel very heavy...

(weights are kg. Also just realised I flipped the rep x set numbers around that time. Confusing! I'll settle on a format soon.)

Cool beans. Finished week one.