starting strength gym
Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Pramod's novice log

Default Pramod's novice log

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    33 year old male, 5"10 - complete beginner

Started SS about three weeks ago. No prior weight training, used to be a regular runner until I injured my feet and gave up. Always looked skinny for my weight.
    I could not do 10 pushups in a row when I started SS - total lack of upper body/shoulder strength.

------------------------------------------------------------
    Beginning lifts 3 weeks ago(Aug 27th, 2016):

Weighed 175 lbs at 30% body fat
    Squat: 110x5x3 (Poor form with knees buckling in on every rep, no hip drive to speak of)
    Deadlift: 135x5x3 (This was easy)
    Press: 45x5x3 (weakest of my lifts and this was hard)
    Bench: 70x5x3

As of yesterday(Sep 18th, 2016):

Weighed 191 lbs at 27% body fat
    Squat: 165x5x3 (good form with hip drive and knees pushed out, no more knee buckling & Felt easy)
    Deadlift: 215x5x1 (reverse grip, felt easy)
    Press: 85x5x1, failed second set completely due to back hyperextending

Bench: 100x5x3
    ------------------------------------------------------------

I work at a computer/desk all day and never exercised my upper body. So my shoulders are weak as hell.
    The goal is to get the press & bench to body weight and squat/deadlift to 300ish range by this time next year.
    Not worried about gaining weight or losing abs - shooting for 220+ lbs asap.

Have been eating lots of protein, about 3500 calories total(includes 5 glasses of whole milk) and sleeping 8 hours a day.
    Taking whey protein, creatine and BCAA(Thanks to Jordan's posts on nutrition).
    My wife is supportive of the strength goals(may be not the weight gain) and we have a big gym right downstairs, so I really have no reason to not step up and get strong.

Here we go!