starting strength gym

Thread: Emily Socolinsky

Default Emily Socolinsky

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I just want to give a big thanks to and testimonial for Emily. Historically, I had been like many lifters - I did my "bro split" and almost exclusively relegated free weights to the upper body. I had been attempting to correct that problem for about 6 months on my own when I emailed Emily. I'd been trying to do the fashionable ATG (which for me meant very rounded) squats, along with a nearly squatted deadlift - very low hips. My back was increasingly bothering me - sciatica, hip pain, etc. After being told I probably had disc issues by a sports medicine doctor (who also told me that the Valsalva herniates discs), I was out a few hundred bucks and one step from abandoning the compound lifts altogether and doing "aesthetics" for life. After coming across a post of Emily's on the forum about her past back issues, I reached out to her. Despite my being a day's drive away, she proceeded to correspond with me, give me advice, and (most importantly) urge me very strongly to find a coach. I found one within decent proximity, and my lifting partner and I are now making great progress on the SS program with SSC Mia Inman.

While Emily and I have never met nor directly worked together, I would to recommend her to anyone based on her willingness to give her time and advice - in my case with no monetary reward in sight. If it hadn't been for that willingness, I'd probably still be in pain and much weaker, or I'd have given up any non-bench compound lifts altogether. Thanks!