starting strength gym

Thread: Glad I found SS, Here's to change!

Default Glad I found SS, Here's to change!

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    So story is I've been lifting for the last 4-5 years but never properly. Would jump from program to program and for the most part was doing a bro-split, training nearly every day always in isolation. Convinced squats and deadlifts were optional and in love with bench pressing and upper body in general although I had no understanding of progressive overload. Found SS almost a year ago but didn't give it a chance. Wanted to buy the book but couldn't afford it with amazon selling it for up to $100 cad. Bought the kindle edition and read it almost entirely twice already and always learning or remembering things that help. Did a form check and going to continue doing form checks until I'm satisfied with my form. I've been training for about 3 weeks now give or take, I recently purchased the official app and will post my starting log and my current log and keep updating the thread as I go on.
    I recently turned 19, and despite having trained for a while albeit incorrectly I am seeing great progression and hopefully means I still have quite a lot of beginner/noob gains in me.
    height: 5'9
    started october 21st 2016
    164 lbs

squat: 65 lbs
    deadlift: 135 lbs
    benchpress: 135 lbs
    press: 65 lbs

squats - had no idea where to start and I did not feel comfortable being in a low bar position so did high bar squats. Felt easy enough but movement felt awkward and depth was questionable

deadlift - started with 135 lbs so I did not have to make up for the height difference the other plates would have made probably a bad idea... used hex plates probably another bad idea... bar slipped on my last reps, need to focus on grip strengthening accessory exercises.