starting strength gym
Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Dunk a basketball

Default Dunk a basketball

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Background

I've been lifting on and off since 2002, but have never gained any significant results, since I'm always swayed by the 'latest breakthrough in science or whatever'. I've been lifting seriously again since January this year, following the Starting Strength recommendation, and haven't stopped until now. I thought it'll be great to post my goals and what I did in the gym, and ask for constructive criticism.

I've always wanted to be able to dunk a basketball, so I'll make it my goal. I'll start from aiming for 1.5 x bw squat and 2 x bw deadlift before I added plyo or other complicated stuff. I'm finishing up madcow's intermediate 5 x 5 soon, and then will reload with the texas 5 x 5.

Current stats

Height: 5' 11"
    Weight: 165 lbs, about 12-14% bf

Squat: 205 lbs x 3 reps
    Deadlift: 255 lbs x 4 reps
    Bench: 137 lbs x 3 reps

Short term goals

Squat: 225 lbs x 5 reps
    Deadlift: 280 lbs x 5 reps
    Bench: 150 lbs x 5 reps

Long term goals

Squat: 250 lbs x 5 reps (1.5 x bw squat)
    Deadlift: 330 lbs x 5 reps (2 x bw deadlift)
    Bench: 165 lbs x 5 reps (bw bench)

Once I get here, then I'll think about adding plyo and other stuff. I think I'll be able to dunk when I got here, since I can already grab the rim with a running start on a good day.

Hope to hear from all of you.

My current program

Tuesday
    Mobility drills, some low intensity plyo
    Squat 4 x 5, 1 x 3, 1 x 8 (weight is ramped up, set with 3 rep is the heaviest)
    Bench 4 x 5, 1 x 3, 1 x 8 (weight is ramped up, set with 3 rep is the heaviest)
    Pendlay row 4 x 5, 1 x 3, 1 x 8 (weight is ramped up, set with 3 rep is the heaviest)
    Curl superset with tricep pushdown 3 x 6-8

Thursday