starting strength gym

Thread: Learning the Power Clean

Default Learning the Power Clean

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I'm just starting out on the 3 x 5 program outlined in Starting Strength. I picked the workout up from the thread below:
    http://forum.bodybuilding.com/showthread.php?t=998224

I've just purchased the book and I'm waiting for delivery to me in the UK. In the mean while I was hoping you could answer this question for me. I've found different sources on the internet stating that you should first learn the Hang Clean and the Clean Pull before advancing to the Power Clean.

http://www.t-nation.com/findArticle....6-059-training
    http://www.davedraper.com/pmwiki/pmw...iki/PowerClean

What are your thought's on this?

Thanks
    Adam

My method starts at the top and works down to the floor, like a hang clean, but we get to the floor the first workout and stay there from then on. I use 3 steps instead of 12, like the first article you linked illustrates, because I like small numbers when learning things (I'm stupid that way). I don't see the point in hang cleans as a primary exercise, because the point of doing cleans for an athlete interested in general strength training is to move the bar through the whole range of motion faster than a deadlift does, working on force production from the power side, and letting the deadlift take care of the heavy weight part.