Thread: Yet another semi=geezer Starting Strength, direct from China

Default Yet another semi=geezer Starting Strength, direct from China

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    56 years old (for another 11 days)
    80 kg weight (176 lbs)
    182 cm tall (6')

I've been doing cycling and body weight conditioning for the past 8 months and recently some dumbell work along with it from my current home here in Haikou, China. In the past 16 months my weight has gone from 94 kg down to 79 kg. This is mostly due a pre-diabetes diagnosis, and just being sick of being fat. The original goal was to get to 75kg, but after discovering Starting Strength, I'm now changing the goal from being close to my original eduro-ectomorphic self into a much stronger and thus heavier person. Given a decently low body fat percentage (and hopefully therefore a low Hemoglobin A1c number) I have no problem weighing 200 lbs again. I'll never be a Powerlifter as I'm one of those gluttons for punishment that loves cycling for hours on end. But I also am tired of being scrawny. I just paid for a local 6 month gym membership, and am looking for a gym back home for the Spring Festival and for when I return to the USA in July.

Workout 1 12/31/16 (Using the Str app)

Squat 45kg 3x5
    Bench 45kg 3x5
    Deadlift 80kg 1x5

Squats and Deadlift were worked into, 5 kgs at a time, starting with a bare bar until I felt that I was doing actual work. My bench is deliberately low, as I'd previously been "floor pressing" with a narrow grip width. After re-reading and watching the video I know know my grip was wrong, but it's not an instantaneous journey.

Workout 2 1/2/17

Squat 50 kg 3x5
    Press 35 kg 3x5
    Chin 3x3 bodyweight