starting strength gym

Thread: 2 questions

Question 2 questions

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hey Mr. Rippetoe, before I say anything I just would like to say what an honor it is to even be able to ask you a question.

Okay so I'm 20 yo and I'm sort of a wreck lol. I'm 6', 175lbs, about 19% BF, 36 inch waist. I need muscle and I need to lose fat, so for the longest time I didn't know whether to bulk or cut. After being stuck in this 2 dimensional thought pattern for some time, I was just recently given the wise advise to stop over complicating things. Being that I am new to lifting I was told to keep it simple, don't bulk, don't cut, don't count! To just eat smart, eat healthy, get on a good beginners program (particularly your program), and that results will come in strength, muscle gain and fat loss, all of course in time.

Now this is a 2 part question:
    1. So I was curious what you felt about this advise I was given, do you feel that it's fairly good advise? and do you advise the same?

2. My 2nd question has to do with the workout specifically. I am pretty sure that the way to do the workout for optimal results would be exactly how you prescribed. However my problem is, the gym I currently belong to is very small and the only free weights available are dumbbells. I realize that this is a problem being that it is a Barbell workout. I would join another gym but neither me or my family are financially able to afford that right now. So I was wondering if I could get the same results, the same gains or similar results and gains doing the workouts with DBs rather than BBs. It hurts me to even ask that given the fact that your workout seems to be a masterpiece, but I don't have a choice unfortunately.

I want to thank you for taking your time out to read my questions and I look forward to hearing from you.