starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Galgenstrick - training log

Default Galgenstrick - training log

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I've been training for about 2 years now. Figured I'd make a log here and update occasionally -- probably not every session since I do that by hand in a journal.

In the beginning I spent a good 6 months cutting. I cut from 195lbs down to 150lbs. Then I started doing a lean mass phase for a bit over a year on Mike Matthews program (BLS). Long story short, that got me just about nowhere. I'm not sure if it was the program split, or a lack of sleep, or both, but for a year of training on a caloric surplus my lifts were pretty sad.

I've been battling major sleep issues as well as a thyroid autoimmune disease for a good part of my life. A few months ago I saw a Dr. about anxiety and sleep. I was pretty desperate since I've tried just about every other natural solution. I was prescribed Remeron to help with both. So far that med has made a world of difference. I'm sleeping most nights and anxiety is noticeably lower.

At the same time I saw the Dr. I saw Andrew Jackson, a SS coach in Redmond, WA. I began the SS program near the end of October weighing about 170lbs. I upped my calories significantly. My lifts have all improved. My squats are still way below average. I don't know why they suck so bad, but I posted some videos here last week for form corrections. I'm working on my squat technique and my other lifts are improving fairly rapidly.

Current stats as of 1/24/2016:
    6'0" Male
    BW: 207lbs

Squat: 160lbs 3x5
    Bench: 190lbs 3x5
    DL: 275lbs 1x5
    OHP: 115lbs 3x5
    PC: 135 3x3 -I have trouble racking these, like I'm scared of busting a collarbone. Need to work on this.