starting strength gym

Thread: Sister with Camurati-Engelmann's disease and other people I should never train. Help.

Default Sister with Camurati-Engelmann's disease and other people I should never train. Help.

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hey coach,

If you've heard of Camurati-Engelmann, I'm willing to bet you have a family member with the disease. It is a very rare occurrence but the symptoms are not terribly rare. Muscle weakness, difficulty gaining weight, and chronic bone pain are among the worst symptoms which you may guess sound like weight training and proper nutrition could do a considerable amount for in the way of treatment.

I am not a doctor and I am not a strength coach. I am a family member who loves his sister, wants her to be more able, and wants her to be happier. Coaching or telling family what to do is hard enough--not being a properly trained professional increases the difficulty of this issue.

Everything I know from SS leads me to believe properly designed strength training could help her. Brian Jones' talk made me realize how substantial that help could be. If you or anyone has experience training individuals with any related or similar diseases/symptoms I want to hear from you. If anyone has data on strength training for individuals with similar symptoms I want to hear from you. If a particular SS coach has particular experience or interest in clients of this type please tell me. If anyone thinks they can help or could direct me to someone who can I want to hear from you.

I am out of my league here and I don't know how to help her. I can't find data on someone with this disease using strength training and I don't think her little brother who isn't even a coach should be the primary source telling her to start squatting.

Thank you anyone who read. Thank you anyone who responds.