starting strength gym
Page 1 of 30 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Sean's Novice Log

Default Sean's Novice Log

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hi guys/gals. I'm in Sacramento, CA. I used to be a skinny guy weighing 135lbs coming out of highschool at 5'10" and left college at 180lbs but unfortunately that was due to beer/food. I didn't start lifting until I thought I was too fat. I didn't see much progress so went to running. Looking back it was because I was still exercising and nutrition. I ran a couple half marathons and got back down to 155lbs. Since then I've been trying to build back up to 180-200lbs with muscle but have struggled for a few years. I was lifting in my work gym, but strayed from squats/deads/etc because I have a bad back and was afraid based on things I've heard. About a year ago I started playing with a barbell for squats/deads because it actually made my back feel pretty good which was surprising, but I wasn't lifting much.

Somehow I came across Starting Strength a couple weeks ago and read it cover to cover in a week. I was blown away by the depth/physics/logic applied to lifting and reasoning behind the barbell lifts. I setup a home gym a couple weeks ago after buying some weights/barbell on Craigslist. Before I had a rack I was working on light squats for form and deadlifts. Since getting the rack I've started the novice training phase.

Starting weight - 175lbs, 25%BF
    I was stricking lifting these weights when looking at form without a rack. I was worried about messing with my back.

Squat: 45
    Bench: 65
    Press: 45
    Dead: 135