starting strength gym

Thread: Back ache

Default Back ache

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I have just completed my third workout on the SS program and have a constant lower back ache. It's not muscle soreness, it's just that same old back ache I'm sure everyone has experienced at some point.

I've read an article that states lower back aching is down to lack of movement, in 8 out of 10 cases. Muscle imbalance is a concept used in this article. I have no idea how to determine where the imbalance is, if that is the issue or how I would solve it.

I'm an IT student so I do a lot of sitting around, but other than 3 workouts a week on this program is there anything else I should be doing (or not doing)? I'm only 20 and hate the fact I get this aching. If it was soreness I'd know I worked out hard but it's not and it comes as soon as I start squatting, making deadlifts very uncomfortable.

It is aching as I type, so you can understand my concern I'm sure.

Any advice would be appreciated.

If your lower back is hurting as you describe, you are doing something wrong. Post a video here of your squat and deadlift form taken during your work sets and let me see where the problem might be.

Lumbar extension is something I'm very aware of, I've just been analysing my deadlift position without weight and can feel the tightness and aching is coming after I've had my spine in lumbar extension.

Perhaps what I'm perceiving as an ache is just unused muscles (erector.s) becoming fatigued very quickly?

I started last Tuesday so my next workout day is Tuesday 26th. Squats started to feel heavy yesterday and if my legs aren't feeling too sore tomorrow I'll skip a days rest. So I'll get a video of my squats up tomorrow hopefully. Deadlifts will be on Wednesday or Thursday depending on the above, so expect a video on one of them days.

Thanks.