starting strength gym

Thread: Programming for 15 year old girl

Question Programming for 15 year old girl

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    I've been doing SS now for 6 months with my 17 year old son, and we've had good results. I'm transitioning to Texas Method while we are still nursing a bit out of LP for my son.

My 15 year old daughter to my great pleasure has asked to join us. She's done 2 sessions so far, and I've got her on strict SS and she has faith in the program and understands the principles and has seen the progress and is motivated.

The only "problem" is deciding how much weight to add. I don't have any reference for girls, and I don't want to push too much on her and ruin the progress, but I also don't want to be too conservative and underestimate her either.

She's tall 5'10" and slim 140 lbs. Sort of a high-jumper build.

We started on 66 lbs squat, 33 bench and press (just the 15 kg bar), and 88 lbs deadlift. No PC yet.

My question is what sort of jumps have people who have trained similar athletes used for the various lifts? I'm thinking 2.5 kg (5.5 lbs) per session on squat and dead, 2.2 lbs (1 kg) on bench and press. Does that sound reasonable or too conservative? I'm pretty strong and we have similar build (apart from me being a 46 year old man and she a 15 year old girl!) so I have no reason not to to think she has potential to be strong too.

Hi,

sounds about right to me. Just be ready to reduce the weight jumps once progress becomes difficult, especially on the pressing movements.
    A set of fractional plates might be a good investment, unless your gym has one.

IPB

Quote Originally Posted by Joseph Santaniello View Post
    I've been doing SS now for 6 months with my 17 year old son, and we've had good results. I'm transitioning to Texas Method while we are still nursing a bit out of LP for my son.