starting strength gym

Thread: Failed 635 deadlift at lockout. Time for Rack Pulls?

Default Failed 635 deadlift at lockout. Time for Rack Pulls?

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Third lift in this video. Could not get it locked out. My back was rounded and there was no straightening it once I was at the top. I tend to be on the rounder end of the deadlift spectrum as it is but this is actually the first time I've failed a deadlift (first time testing 1RM) and I'm wondering if doing rack pulls will help with my lockout or if this was just too much weight and I should just focus on continuing to add weight to my actual deadlift worksets. I've never done any deadlift assistance up to this point, just the main lift. I haven't really got to the point where I'm no longer progressing on deadlifts themselves, which is why I haven't considered adding rack pulls up until now.

Last edited by Tim K; 04-05-2017 at 06:25 PM.

Nice deadlifts, especially for a first time max test.

I could be completely wrong here, but I think you just psyched yourself out or something. Your approach looked just slightly more 'violent' as you pulled on the bar; it looked like you rounded slightly more on the last rep and more importantly, it looked like your hips went up a bit higher prior to the weight leaving the ground.

I don't think rack pulls will solve your problems. Your problem happened when you pullled the weight off the ground, so that's where you want to work on your strength. I do this with paused-deadlifts.

I really recommend watching this video by Mike T... it gets better as it goes on, but def worth listening to the whole thing: Keeping a Flat-Back in a Deadlift - YouTube