starting strength gym

Thread: Squat form check. 115lbs trying to iron things out.

Default Squat form check. 115lbs trying to iron things out.

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hi everyone, this is my first time posting anything in the forum because I just registered today. I'm still in the novice phase, hence the squat PR of just 180lbs, and noticed some issues in coming up out of the hole, as in too much forward lean and some other things. I'm also cutting the crap out of the skin in between my traps. When I started videoing myself, I saw just how ugly my squat is. Let me know what you think i can do, if anything, to improve my form.

Squat form check - YouTube

You have squat shoes but not a 2" olympic bar? Never seen that combo before.

I notice you are raising your elbows too high and rounding your upper back. This is probably why the bar is moving and chafing your skin.

But wait for a real coach to see your squat and tell you what to work on first. That's just what pops out when I look at them, and I'm just some guy on the internet.

A video from a45 degree angle, or even behind in this case would be helpful for checking stance width.

Currently you are trying to stay upright for too long, bend over earlier. Shove your knees OUT hard from the very beginning to get them set early. Set your back tight and keep it tight, "proud chest" or "chest up" are helpful cues for this.
    Last edited by Ben Patterson; 04-14-2017 at 08:00 PM.

Yeah, the combo is pretty backward, but the plates and bar were free, and Rip says to just "buy the damned shoes", so I did.
    I suspected that my upper back was probably rounding too much, but then again, that's my everyday posture, so I suspect fixing it in the squat is going to take a bit of time. And maybe a chest big enough to stick out, lol. The elbows I can fix right away.