starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Programming secondary movements with DUP (PC and Press)

Default Programming secondary movements with DUP (PC and Press)

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hello everyone

I would like to do some sort of DUP after I end starting strength in a few weeks, with both strength and hypertrophy in mind.
    This is as a part of my off-season training, from a sport called Handball.

I plan to day 3 sessions per week with squat, bench and deadlift every session.

How would you program secondary movements like powerclean and press?

If it matters my numbers are (kg):
    Weight, height, age: 84, 184cm, 20
    Squat: 3x5x135
    Pres: 3x3x62.5
    Deadlift: 1x5x145
    Powerclean: 5x3x95
    Benchpress: 3x5x87.5

Best Andersen

I was a handball coach and player (olympic sport, not american versions) and I think the press and the powerclean are very important as a player, since overhead strength and RFD -respectively- are key in the sport. I would give them a big priority if performance is your main goal. Also I don't think you need to DL or bench 3 times a week as an early intermediate whose main interest is not powerlifting, but of course I will leave goal-setting to you.

Quote Originally Posted by Andersen View Post
    Hello everyone

I would like to do some sort of DUP after I end starting strength in a few weeks, with both strength and hypertrophy in mind.
    This is as a part of my off-season training, from a sport called Handball.

I plan to day 3 sessions per week with squat, bench and deadlift every session.

How would you program secondary movements like powerclean and press?

If it matters my numbers are (kg):
    Weight, height, age: 84, 184cm, 20
    Squat: 3x5x135
    Pres: 3x3x62.5
    Deadlift: 1x5x145
    Powerclean: 5x3x95
    Benchpress: 3x5x87.5

Best Andersen