starting strength gym

Thread: Doc's Novice Progression

Default Doc's Novice Progression

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Greetings everyone!

A little history for this initial post. I am 46 years old, 6'1, 263 lbs. I am a medical professional and have a somewhat sedentary existence. Until now, that is!

I was athletic as a youth, and lettered in multiple sports in high school. I had a few opportunities to play lower level college football, but passed on them to pursue other goals. I have always been involved in sports throughout my adult life, but have never trained. My diet is admittedly horrible, and likely the bulk of my problem, but I am also weak for my size and would love to change that. I am involved with master's level (read: old guys) track and field, specifically shot put and discus. Adding strength will be very beneficial to all areas of my life, but this one specifically.

Milestone weights during my life:
    High school football: 178 lbs
    High school graduation: 184 lbs
    End of first year of college: 208 lbs
    College graduation: 224 lbs
    Birth of first child, 2002: 240 lbs
    Birth of second child, 2005: 250 lbs
    The first breaking point, 2011: 263 lbs

In 2011, I finally saw the light that I needed to be healthier for myself and my family. I decided to do a cycle of P90X. Mission accomplished....sort of. 90 days later, I had dropped 45 pounds, but I felt awful! My shoulders hurt, my hips hurt, my back hurt. I have essentially done nothing after that 90 day period, and have slowly put back every single one of those pounds that I shed. Enter the moment known as "Breaking Point #2", lol.