starting strength gym

Thread: Texas Method - Intensity pull

Default Texas Method - Intensity pull

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hey guys!

24, M, 180cm / 5ft11in, 78kg / 172lb

I'm not a professional athlete, no specific sports I do besides strength training.

I have the following template for Texas Method:

Volume Day
    Squat 5 X 5 @ 90% 5RM
    Bench Press/Press 5 X 5 @ 90% 5RM
    Deadlift 1 X 5 @ 90% 5RM

Recovery Day
    Squat 2 X 5 @ 80% of Volume Day
    Bench Press / Press 3 X 5 @ 90% previous 5 X 5 weight (load slightly lighter than previous OHP weight for the Press)

Intensity Day
    Squat Warm-up, work up to a new 5RM
    Bench Press / Press Warm-up, work up to a new 5RM

Bench Press and Press alternate as you know. Volume,Recovery,Intensity would be Press,Bench,Press or Bench,Press,Bench.
    Since I don't know how to do power cleans, nor do I have any decent weightlifting coach or Starting Strength Coach in my area, I'm leaving these out of my program.

Is it fine to add the Deadlift for the Intensity Day, attempting a new PR (5RM, 3RM, 2RM)?
    I thought about adding the Barbell Row for the Power Clean spot, but I think that if I had to replace the Power Clean with either Deadlift or Row, maybe Deadlift would be more suited.

As for assistance exercises, I'm thinking on including Weighted Chinups and Farmer's Walks:

Chinups Warm-up to a new PR, then add a bit of volume ( 2 X 5 @ 90% 5RM )

Farmer's Walks 30-35'' X 3 @ Max Weight (I did some little LP on these, currently at 37.5kg / 82lb per hand, I believe I can still milk some LP out of this).

Basic structure is fine. I'm a fan of the DL on Intensity Day rather than volume day but people do it both ways. For the Volume Day I kinda like about 3 sets of Stiff Leg Deads and then Chins on Wednesday.

5s won't last too long on Friday so you'll need to swtich those to sets in the 1-3 rep range.