starting strength gym
Page 1 of 14 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Master in Central Florida Novice log

Default Master in Central Florida Novice log

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    A bit about me and where I have been:

I am 69. I was an engineer by trade and did a lot of sedentary years. The sick, aging phenotype had me firmly in its grasp, complete with metabolic syndrome and polypharmacy. I started this year (2017) with Weight Watchers for a 35 pound loss. My wife informed me that I looked like I was dying of cancer when I hit goal weight, so I got 60-odd pounds og standard plates, dumbbell handles and a curl bar. I did fill up some sagging skin using those weights, but it was obvious that I needed more weight and a barbell. My research into barbells led me to Starting Strength and The Barbell Prescription. I now have an Olympic barbell, 260 pounds of iron and a squat cage. I have been on the beginning novice for Masters for 2 weeks now. My starting weights are weird because I started with my dumbbell max lifts. Hopefully this log will bring me into contact with other masters, maybe even here in central Florida.

Starting: Squat- 70#, Press - 55#, Bench – 60, and Dead Lift – 90.

End of week 2

Squat - 105
    Press - 62.5
    Bench - 80
    Dead Lift - 175

Total weight lifted last week - 23,528#

I need to work on my diet. I need to figure out how to add calories without blowing up.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by LarryLohkamp; 10-07-2017 at 01:03 PM.

Hey, great decision to get strong using this program.

If you don't mind me asking, how much protein are you eating?

Quote Originally Posted by cfreetenor View Post
    Hey, great decision to get strong using this program.

If you don't mind me asking, how much protein are you eating?