starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New lifters

Default New lifters

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    As a new lifter last year I started SS and like many others had crap squat form. Thanks to getting misinformation on the bb forum I started adding weight and ended up with bad knees and back. I posted on here asking for advice but it was too late, I had already f*cked things up.

I studied the descriptions in the book over and over yet still didn't understand the concepts of a proper squat. You'll have something humorous to say but I am an intelligent lad yet no studying could translate into proper form without the guidance of a skilled trainer. It just isn't that simple when you don't know how, when you have no experience and you really don't understand the exercise or lifting in a general sense.

I think realistically, months are needed to study and learn a safe squat. Then an additional month just for form adjustments. After all that is what's most important, right? Yet clearly hardly anyone is aware of this at the beginning and therefore go through long stages of lifting with bad form picking up bad habits along the way.

Mark, how dangerous do you see lifting beginners squatting with no PT or expert guidance at the gym? I've watched countless videos on here and most of them have the same old issues; sliding knees, looking up, butt tucking etc. It seems very few beginners can get sufficient understanding of the physical requirements of the squat in the early stages of their lifting career, putting them in danger.

The solution is simple; do your f*cking studying and get your form right before adding weight but nobody does this. Have you ever seen a new SS lifter asking for form critique with just the bar?