starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Advice for a beginner

Default Advice for a beginner

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hi coach Rippetoe.
    I'm new to strength training and have just started looking up your videos on youtube and your answers in this forum. They've been loads of help. In the last 2 weeks I've learned more about strength training than in the last three months. Thanks.

I have two questions - I'm sure I'd find the answer to them in your book, SS, but am having trouble getting my hands on a copy here in London.

1) I began on a 5x5 routine and have noticed your beginner routine is 3x5. Should I switch?

2) I bought some whey protein (but now realise it's more important for me to read up and practice correct form). When would you advise the best time to use it? I've been having it post-workout and once again in the evening. Is this ok?

Thanks in advance.

The book is available from us at aasgaardco.com, from http://www.pullum-sports.co.uk/, and from amazon.com. We don't distribute to bookstores anywhere, so don't bother looking.

1.) I recommend 3 x 5 for novice trainees.

2.) Drink milk. Don't waste money on supplements unless there is a good reason to do so.

Quote Originally Posted by Mark Rippetoe View Post
    The book is available from us at aasgaardco.com, from http://www.pullum-sports.co.uk/, and from amazon.com. We don't distribute to bookstores anywhere, so don't bother looking.

1.) I recommend 3 x 5 for novice trainees.

2.) Drink milk. Don't waste money on supplements unless there is a good reason to do so.

Out of curiosity, why don't you distribute to bookstores? It would be nice to see a book in the weightlifting section that is about weights and not bodybuilding. Perhaps I answered my own question..

Thanks for the link and the advice.
    Take care and keep up the good work!