starting strength gym

Thread: Suhaila's log

Default Suhaila's log

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hi everyone! I'm Suhaila: 32 years old, female, 5'2", 128lbs.

This is my first time doing starting strength- I've had a bit of exposure to weight training through some very limited CrossFit experience, but I was getting tired of doing metcons and wanted to see some actual progress. I've always been "weak" in terms of physical strength. But, as my husband recently pointed out, I've also had 3 kids in the last 5 years (ages 4, 3, and 17 months) and I've had amazing (fast!) natural home births each time. He says I have strength in me and I just haven't realized it. So here I am, trying starting strength.

I did my first workout yesterday, Feb 28:
    Squat
    5x45lbs
    5x55
    5x60
    3x5x70

Bench
    5x30
    3x40
    3x5x45

Deadlift
    5x45
    3x95
    1x105
    5x110

I'm excited to see where this leads!

Some questions:
    - am I doing my warmup sets right? I did sets of 5 for squats because I was trying to figure out my start weight, but reduced the number of reps for the other lifts because I had an idea of what my work set would be.
    - I'm not sure I'll be able to get in the gym 3 times a week. It's hard to get out with the kids home, and we're still working on independent bedtime so by the time they're asleep my preferred gym is closed. If I do the program twice a week would that be really bad? As in, aim for 3 times but if I miss a workout, just shift it to the following week? How long should I plan for as a maximum gap between workouts?

Thanks for reading!