starting strength gym

Thread: Absolute newcomer, nearing 40 and big with it, London

Default Absolute newcomer, nearing 40 and big with it, London

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    So, as per title, I'm 39 years old and weighing in at 278lbs and 5"9 tall. No injuries.

I bought Starting Strength in April 2013 but just had my first session using the programme last week.
    I've been working with a personal trainer for six months. We've been doing a mix of stuff and I never felt I was learning a programme I could do on my own, even when we were meeting 2 or 3 times a week. Nothing kicked in for me and in these five months I went to the gym less than 10 times on my own.

So I've now told him it has to be Starting Strength. At the moment we're meeting once a week, so a couple of my sessions will be on my own. I have 5 more sessions paid for which I'll use to begin to learn correct form.

After my fourth SS session my weights are:

Squat: 75kg (165lb)
    Overhead press: 37.5kg (82lb) (failed on 4th rep at 40kg) (I did read it's a bad idea as a novice to lift to failure, though he said if you're with a trainer it can be useful?)
    Bench press: 50kg (110lb)

Those weights are on the final set, with first and second sets 10kg and 5kg lighter.

Deadlift: 80kg (176lb)

I will also be doing 5x 60 minute Hot Yoga classes and a couple of meditation classes each week.

[DUCKS!]