starting strength gym

Thread: How to know what jump to use doing simple progression?

Default How to know what jump to use doing simple progression?

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    In your simple progression advice in PP:ST you recommend making jumps of 10-15lbs. for squats, 15-20 lbs. for deadlifts, and bench presses, overhead presses and cleans 5-10 lbs. per workout.

I started lifting again for the third time about 3 months ago. I lifted for 4 weeks, took a week off, 4 weeks then took another week off. These workouts consisted of 3x15 lunges and DB squats (holding dumbbell on chest). Then I followed the SS program verbatim for about a week and a half before I had an issue and couldn't train except with the bar for a week. I started back SS again, and my 6th workout will be Saturday.

Before I stopped SS I felt that I could move up 10-15 lbs. on the 3x5 squat weight; it did not feel heavy enough. When I came back, I only got 2 reps on the last set at that weight. Next two workouts I did the weight for all the reps. Workout after that, went up 10 lbs. and then the workout after that another 10.

Should I keep moving it up by 10 until I can't get all the reps on the last set, and then add another set of 5 at 10-20 lbs. less weight to get the volume in? Or would it be better to at some point, I guess going off how I feel, start tapering the increases down so I always get all reps in a set? I wonder about the second option as going by how you "feel" doesn't always seem to be useful in defining your limits.

Thank you.