Thread: Training advice - 40+, no progress on OHP and deadlifts

Default Training advice - 40+, no progress on OHP and deadlifts

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hi,
    I need an advice.

Weight: 87kg
    Status – training for strength from August 2017, 15 - 10 years ago trained seriously bodybuilding style(natural), stopped 7 years ago; since then, for 7 years, 1 - 2 times per week generic weights training.
    I am new to targeted strength training but not to the iron. During the bodybuilding days I did of course strength cycles during the training.

Current status:
    Squats – 3 x 5 with 314 pounds (142.5 kg), steady progress with two de-loads and some minor injuries
    Deadlift – 2 x 5 with 330 pounds (150 kg), almost no progress since October 2017
    OHP – 3 x 5 with 132 pounds (60kg), no progress for more than a month, cannot add even 2.5 pounds and finish 3x5. Basically going back and forth with weights.
    Barbell row – stopped doing all rows due to golfer’s elbow in both hands, the result from 1 month ago: 198 pounds 3x5.
    Bench-press: don’t do due to pain in elbows every time I go heavier than 70 kg.
    Remark: I don’t try 1 rep max due to fear of injuries.
    Remark 2: I am from Europe, so the numbers in pounds are approximations.

Goal: stronger squats (180 3x5), deadlift (200 3x5), OHP (100 3x5).
    Problem: No progress whatsoever on deadlifts and OHP.
    Time frame: I plan on training till I drop, so no pressure here.

I train 2 - 3 days a week, but at least 2 days per week. Linear programming. Started with 5x5 and for the last 3 months: 3x5 /starting strength, basically.
    Tried to squat 3 times per week and just could not. Got very tired in 3 weeks and had to switch to 2 heavy days. I guess it is the age kicking in - 10 years ago it was not like this, but I am not sure. It might be bad programming.