starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Late night training in an empty gym

Default Late night training in an empty gym

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hey everybody I'm Chris. I'm 31, 6'3", and about 230lb.

I started training the LP recently because I was tired of my gut expanding. My family is amazing but food tends to be a big social thing for us. As such, there aren't many skinny or fit people in my family. I am determined to stay off that path and to set a good example for my daughter.

I have done some lifting in the past but I never had a real plan. I also did a lot of other ridiculous stuff during my years in the army.

I've got a few workouts to upload so I'll put them in individual posts.

Monday 3-12-18

Squat
    45x5x2
    115x5
    135x5x3
    Adductors felt tight/sore during last set and stayed sore for a while. Poor warm up? Definitely sloppy form

Press
    45x5x3
    65x5
    85x5
    Weight felt right, just at the edge of form deterioration.

Deadlift
    135x5
    155x5
    175x5
    185x5
    205x5
    Need to focus on form, rounding back

This is the first workout and I was finding my work weights. I did not find the 2.5 and 5 lb plates in the gym for a couple more workouts.
    Last edited by Burlingame; 04-13-2018 at 01:32 PM. Reason: formatting

Thursday 3-15-18

Squat
    45x5x3
    95x5
    115x5
    145x5x3
    Still feeling adductor/groin pull at the site of my hernia surgery. I can feel the pull with the empty bar but not bodyweight only. Maybe I need to stretch more?

Bench
    45x5
    95x5x2
    115x5
    135x5x3
    Finding working weight for bench

Deadlift
    95x5x2
    115x5
    135x5
    155x5
    185x2
    225x5

Still hadn't found the smaller plates yet.

Monday 3-19-18

Squat
    155x5x3
    Still some groin pulling, noticed it at about 130lbs. I think it may be form related

Press
    90x5x3

Deadlift