starting strength gym

Thread: Is there a quick list of mistakes that tend to cause injury?

Question Is there a quick list of mistakes that tend to cause injury?

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    OK - I'm a total noob. I've read SS and I'm reading The Barbell Prescription (I figure PP can wait). I've been doing the four main lifts on my own for 3-4 weeks, but have not seen a SSC, and my weights aren't truly challenging yet (I started at low weight, and I'm progressing slower than recommended to try and stay safe).

My biggest concern, of course, is getting injured due to poor form. I know without a coach my form is bad - it just has to be, but I want to hone in on the stuff that is most likely to get me hurt. If I'm doing something wrong that means I use the wrong muscles or lift less weight, that's secondary - I'll work on it later.

The big one mentioned in the book is shoulder impingement on the bench press. I'm trying to avoid that as recommended by aiming lower on the chest than I probably should, but my shoulders have started aching after the bench, which worries me since it isn't a shoulder exercise. It doesn't feel like the sawing described in the book, and doesn't seem to be coming from the area of the scapula - it's more the outside of the shoulder than the back, and feels tight when I do a press-like motion (even though I haven't pressed in nearly a week).

My question is, what would a "minor" shoulder impingement injury feel like? Where would it hurt? Sharp pain or dull ache?

Also, what are the other common form mistakes that result in injury, the stuff that I need *really* watch out for? Is there an article on this? I'm trying to be cautious here...

-->Adam

Quote Originally Posted by Adam Levine View Post