starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Squat Form Check

Default Squat Form Check

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hi Rip, hi Guys

I live in Germany and am an avid believer in the logic behind Starting Strength. Unfortunately I am one of few people in the gym who does that.

So a 50plus yo buff guy in the Gym comes to me and says I will have extreme back problems: My torso is too horizontal. I tried to tell him, that the program I am following (Starting Strength) says my back should be like that. He did not budge and left.

But being a scientist, I always doubt my theories. I really feel my back might be too flat, so I wanted to make sure.

So I went to the gym employee, who knows about Starting Strength but prefers a vertical squat, to make this video. And indeed my back is too horizontal. (check link below)

BUUTTTTT

I have extremely long legs, compared to my torso!!!

So the bar is more or less, above my mid foot. or is it not?

In any case, this was the last working set. What annoys me is this:

Before Vacation I did: 127.5kg

Then I was sick and had vacation. Then I started training two days before this video. I was extremely exhausted.

The is only 115kg. and I am barely making the last two reps.

Check video here

YouTube

best