starting strength gym
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Kevin's SS training log (insert witty title here)

Default Kevin's SS training log (insert witty title here)

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hey all,

Thanks for taking the time to look through my log. I started Starting Strength in May of 2018. I've been lifting off and on for over 10 years but never really pushed myself too hard. I have a history of obesity, diabetes, and sports related injuries that I'd always leaned on as an excuse but decided last summer to take control of my life. As of June 2017 I was 295 at 5'9 w/ out of control blood sugar at the age of 28. Around that time I got very sick on a business trip that lead to some complications with my blood sugar that nearly put me in a coma. It was around that time that I decided to get control of my health. Up to that point I had been an off and on gym patron for a few years. At my best (2015) I weighed around 265, w/ a 250 1RM bench press, a 225 squat, and a 315 deadlift. I thought I was a monster. Fast forward to October of 2017. At this point I had not started training. The bad business with my blood sugar led my doctor to put me on Victoza injections that killed my apatite. From July-October I was eating between 500-1500 calories per day and lost an incredibly amount of weight very fast. I think I dropped from 295-230 in that time. When I went to visit my doctor my A1C had fallen to a respectable 5.7 and I was finally taken off of the Victoza. I was determined to push myself hard and not regain the weight without the crutch of a drug so I decided it was time to start training. Around this time I was a complete noob. I had no clue where to seriously start so I chose the most reputable source I could find. The Chris Pratt workout regimen for Guardians of the Galaxy. The workouts were a crossfit style rotation of all sorts of exercises and running - 6 day