starting strength gym
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Mid-30s Family Man Training Log

Default Mid-30s Family Man Training Log

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Who: My name is Clay, I am a 36 year old husband, father, and entrepreneur.

Why: I am hoping to be more consistent with lifting in order to stay strong, healthy, and also to intimidate my daughter's future boyfriends.

How: Through SS LP.

Background: I have athletic genetics (low body fat, great response to training). Over the last few years I have done SS and worked to probably 3/4 of my total novice phase a few times, but then I get sidetracked by life (this cycle is repeated every few months). I am hoping that this training log will assist me with some type of accountability so that I can maintain strength levels rather than continuously fluctuating. The best lifts this year in February (work sets) were: Squat 300x5x3, Bench 210x5x3, Deads 375x5x1, OHP 145x5x3. Since then I have been on again/off again, so I have lost that strength. Watch me get it back!

Stats:
    5'10"
    176 (10/15/18)

Restarting the LP with lighter weights, but I will make larger jumps initially. Day one:

10/15/18
    Sq: 225x5x3
    OHP: 115x5x3
    Deads: 275x5x1
    Everything was easy. I am increasing food intake a bit more each day, including whole milk. Sleep is dependent upon my toddler!

You are doing three out of three things that turn a male into a man. Now stay consistent with your training so you can keep it up and be strong in so doing.

If you can go see a SS coach from time to time that will help keep you on track and keep you from making any unsafe mistakes.

Quote Originally Posted by carson View Post
    You are doing three out of three things that turn a male into a man. Now stay consistent with your training so you can keep it up and be strong in so doing.