starting strength gym
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Beginner Bar recommendation?

Question Beginner Bar recommendation?

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Apologies if this thread is in the wrong place, it wasn't clear where it belonged. Feel free to move it...

I am a beginner that got a set of weights from Dick's. At the time, I didn't want to spend an excessive amount of money on weight lifting equipment as I am over 40 and wasn't sure I was going to stick with it. We'll, a couple of weeks in, and I am squatting and pulling over 300 lbs. Trouble is, this seems to be the capacity of the bar which was totally unexpected. Sounds like I need to find a new bar. = )

I saw the Starting Strength Bar. Is that the recommended "next" all around bar or are there others I should be looking at?

It's the best bar for the money you can buy.

The first real bar I bought was a Rogue Ohio Power Bar. For my purposes (lifting for strength, no oly lifting), I can’t see myself ever buying another bar again.

I like the SS Bar and would be getting it if I didn't already have a B&R. That being said you won't go wrong with either and would be happy regardless of which if the two you get.

On another note, if you absolutely need some type of finish on the bat, there is a Texas All American Bar. From what their support told me, the shaft is identical to the SS Bar except it has a black zinc finish. Most if the differences are in the sleeves. SS Bar has narrower collars than the AA. The SS has smoother sleeves. The AA has the option of chrome finish.

Other than those 3 (SS, B&R, or Texas AA) there aren't any other bars you'd like as a "beginner bar". Power bar knurling is too aggressive for volume work or cleans. Ohio Bar has no center knurl.