starting strength gym
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Lower back stiffness and hip pain. MRI pics and doctor advice included.

Angry Lower back stiffness and hip pain. MRI pics and doctor advice included.

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Background info: I've been training according to SS for about 3 months by now. I gained 40 pounds, got my body fat rate from 10% to 20%, increased my squat and deadlift by 60 pounds approximately. I now weigh 180 pounds and have lower back stiffnes and hip pain.

So I got my MRI results today. They look like this:

I'll do my best with translating what the othopedist told me, since my native language is not English: "You have a diffusely bulging disc at L5-S1 and anterior straightening at the dural sac."
    I was terrified. He then redirected me to a brain surgeon. The brain surgeon took a look at the MRI and told me that I don't have much to worry about and the orthopedist was exaggerating. I don't know if he told so just because I was looking very terrified or if it was the case though. He also told me that my back muscles had a spasm and that I should rest, swim and do some core exercises.

I believe that either the squats or the deadlifts caused this since my form is very questionable. Terrible at times, especially with the low-bar squat.

So the question is, how bad is my back looking at these MRIs and what should I do? My lower back stiffnes and right hip pain are still here, so I won't train for a while. After that, would switching to high-bar squats help?

I posted some form videos on the forums previously, I believe you can access them through my profile.

This MRI is not even remotely interesting. But hang on: you gained 40 pounds of bodyweight and added 60 pounds to your squat and deadlift in 3 months? Are you serious?

A Clarification | Mark Rippetoe

Quote Originally Posted by Mark Rippetoe View Post