starting strength gym

Thread: 9th Grade Weight Lifting Class

Default 9th Grade Weight Lifting Class

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I am a PE Teacher at a Junior High(7th-9th). We offer a weights class for our 9th graders, and over the past 3 years I've been attempting to run a Starting Strength Model for our program. We've run into a few issues along the way, but I've gradually got it to a point where I'm feeling good about the program. The major issue is time, which is made worse by space. We have 45 minute period, which sounds like a perfect time range for SS workout, however once you factor in getting dressed, and changing, as well as 20-24 kids divided between 6 platforms it can get tricky. 4 kids per rack with different working set weights changing in and out takes more time than you'd think. Once you factor in changing time, we really have about 35 minutes. We tried the basic program of 3 core lifts a day and it was train wreck with time. Next we went to "Double Days" (Squat/Bench Day, Squat/Press Day) but still weren't quite finishing up the second movement especially as working sets started becoming more challenging. Kids were just doing everything as fast they could, and not really having the time to really focus in on the lifts and often times not finishing their sets before class was over. At this point we are on one lift a day:

Monday - Squat
    Tuesday - Bench
    Wednesday - DL
    Thursday - Press
    Friday - Clean