Post Doing my fahves in Warsaw

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Name: Piotr
    Height: 202 cm/6'7
    Weight: 144 kg/317 lb

The Stronglifts attempt

I started lifting in June 2018. I did a month of Stronglifts, tweaked my left thigh and stopped training. I got the Polish version of the Blue Book in July, read it over the summer and, armed with the knowledge, started the SSNLP in late September 2018.

Final working set weights for Stronglifts (11 workouts in June 2018)
    Squat: 42.5 kg
    Bench press: 32.5 kg
    Barbell row: 42.5 kg
    Press: 30 kg
    Deadlift: 60 kg

The Way of the SS Novice

I started SSNLP on 2018-09-28 with the following loads:

Squat: 30 kg
    Bench press: 40 kg
    Press: 30 kg
    Deadlift: 60 kg

Progressed until mid-February 2019
    Squat: 120 kg
    Bench press: 70 kg
    Press: 50 kg
    Deadlift: 147.5 kg
    Power clean: 62.5 kg

Valentine Day's Mishap
    I failed my squat at 122.5 kg on my way up and dropped/rolled the bar over my head.
    It shook me somewhat, despite doing 5x2 at 100 kg a few minutes later.
    The next day I came down with a severe cold and resumed lifting on March 9th.

2019-03-9
    Squat: 80 kg
    Bench press: 50 kg
    Press: 45 kg
    Deadlift: 110 kg

I had another cold in early April and did another reset.

The latest loads as of 2019-04-26 are

Squat : 100 kg
    Bench press: 65 kg
    Press: 50 kg
    Deadlift: 140 kg

My compliance is spotty. I have clocked 60 workouts since September 2018 instead of 90 under the 3 workouts/week regime.

I often take 2 days of rest instead of one, as I don't seem to recover sufficiently between workouts after one day of rest.

The current plan is to improve my compliance and to reintroduce the power clean once my deadlift starts getting heavy again.

Still, despite NDTFP, I got stronger, didn't injure myself and am enjoying training a lot.