starting strength gym

Thread: DocRawk attempt at NLP #1

Default DocRawk attempt at NLP #1

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    So I've been reading the forum for a while now and have read the blue book front to back once and then reread most of it piecemeal as bathroom reading material. I've been working towards getting healthier in a fairly haphazard way for the last year. I'm a family physician in Texas with a growing clinic panel as well as a wife and 3 boys (ages 5, 3, and 18 months) at home. My weight has fluctuated from as high as 235 (free cinnamon rolls, Ben & Jerry, and Dr. Peppers at the hospital cafeteria) to as low as 170 via various manipulations of my diet. Exercise has rarely ever been a part of my life other than a short stint in undergrad after going through a break up.

37 year old male, 5'11", 210lbs. I started working out in August last year doing purely bodyweight movements. I used intermittent fasting as a way to restrict calories but still be able to eat at least one large and satisfying meal per day. I worked through push-up, pike, squat, and chin-up variations until about January until I realized that I just wasn't getting where I wanted to go. Weight got down to 183 at the low point, and I felt weak most of the time. My clinic at the time was next door to a Planet Fitness, so I joined during their New Year special and thankfully was able to work out there for 3 months and then leave with no contract to keep me around.