starting strength gym

Thread: Recommended certifications besides SS?

Default Recommended certifications besides SS?

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I have a full time engineering job I like and pays well, but I think I'd really enjoy doing some personal training on the side, especially as my kids get older, maybe as a 2nd career after "retirement".

I would like to get some kind of certification besides SS for my general education and to be well rounded and hirable as a trainer.

I see there are several out there: ACE, NASM, etc. They seem very interested in taking my money with fancy exam prep packages, but I don't know what the differences really are and which ones are better.

I know SS is the focus here and I plan on taking a seminar. SS is very rigorous and I have zero experience outside of training myself and giving my neighbor some pointers.

Outside of the SS certification, do you folks recommend a general certification program that would compliment SS or at least be a good entry into training people (average people, older people, younger athletes).

My interest in training, and in the starting strength model, is in helping folks out and building strength for longevity and quality of life.... I see too many people letting themselves go and for some reason I want to help them.

I'm not an athlete. I have unimpressive strength numbers and zero sports accomplishments. Because of that I'm not leaning towards training athletes because honestly who would hire me.