starting strength gym

Thread: Frequent muscle strains

Default Frequent muscle strains

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I’ve been running a NLP since mid November 2019. Strength gains have been good and form is improving every workout. I’ve been to a squat and deadlift seminar and have had my bench press form evaluated by an SS coach in person. Programming wise I have been super compliant and not greedy with trying to increase weights too quickly.

Problem is...the last week I have been suffering muscle strains. Minor gracilis strain on last squat session (3rd work set) with a weight I was managing well. Minor lat pull last deadlift session during warmup. Damn it! Finally, today was bench press and had a slight pull in my pec on first work set. Shit pisses me off because all these strains happened with weights I can move relatively easy.

Rest, stress, etc are good (at least good as they’re gonna be). Diet could always be better but protein intake and hydration are good.

I’m wondering if the damn statin I have to take is causing these problems (heart attack 2015). I take CoQ10 and don’t have any myalgias or weird cramps to speak of. However, I saw some Studies suggest statin users report increased incidence of muscle strains (not talking myalgias or myopathy here). Dr Sully or Will perhaps have any experience in dealing with this phenomena? Maybe it’s something else and I’m not seeing it. I can say I can’t keep doing this and managing work and family life. Hopeful for some direction here!

May as well run a damn constant Starr Rehab protocol LOL!

Details:
    45 yo male
    5’10” 210lb

Working sets: 3x5
    Squat: 275
    DL: 315
    Press:150 (stalling as of last session)
    Bench: 200 (deloaded 2 times due to minor strains in left pec); usually hits in low 200s; have had a RIGHT shoulder recon in 2017. Rotator cuff, subacromial decomp and biceps tenodesis.