starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Building a custom rack

Default Building a custom rack

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I'd like to have a custom rack welded for my small apartment, to serve temporarily during these trying times. I plan to use this rack primarily for high bar or front squats, presses, chin ups, dips, good mornings, curls, and hang cleans or hang snatches. I can't do any lifts off the floor. I will purchase a cheap non-rotating standard bar and about 120 kg of plates to start. I don't want to invest too much as this is a temporary measure since they have closed my gym and now have police guarding the dip bars and chin up bars at the beach across the street. Madness. Anyway, the design is not finalized. This is my first time doing 3d modeling so the proportions are not correct. I just wanted to get an image of the general shape to show my welder. This will be custom designed for my dimensions. The chin up bar will be at a height where I stand on my toes to grasp it. I think the dip bars should be about armpit level, and the squat pins should be just below my nipples. The dip bars will be at an angle to allow for pronation and width variation. Not sure exactly what the angle should be but I don't think it's critical. The width of the pins will be quite narrow, under 33 inches, so that it can fit through my front door. There will be safety bars in case I need to bail on a squat, and also to add stability. I might also include another set of pins for bench press, if it's the case that the safety bars can be put at a height which is usable for both squat and bench. Have to give that some more thought. I'm not an engineer so I don't know how sturdy this will be. I think 2" square tube will be strong enough, and 1.5" for the chin and dip bars. Rubber feet to protect the floor and dampen shock. The goal is to make this light enough and smal