starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Advanced programming for an old powerlifter

Default Advanced programming for an old powerlifter

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I have been lifting 3 times per week for almost 50 years. I started with something similar to the SS NLP for compound movements plus a few accessories. As I got older, my lifting was more along the line of minimum effective dose and my focus on conditioning increased. About 1 1/2 years ago, I decided to start competing and began adjusting my training accordingly. I ran an NLP for a few months and I have been on a modified 3-day TM for almost a year.

At this point in my training, new PRs are a long time in between which makes it hard to know how well my training is suited to my goals. Due to my age and my general reluctance to make large changes in programming, most of the modifications I test are relatively minor. I have considered an 8-week pyramid model, similar to the one on page 180 of PPST, but I am reluctant to add that much volume during the accumulation stage. Since overtraining and injuries at my age are harder to recover from than when I was younger, I am hoping that one of you who is an older lifter or has coached someone with a similar profile to mine might help me avoid mistakes.

Sets X Reps below:

Volume Day: SQ - 4X5, BP - 5X5, DL -3X3

Recovery Day: SQ - 2-3X5, OHP - 3X5, Chins - 3X8. Limited accessory work

Intensity Day: SQ - 1X5, BP 1X5 and 1X8 backup set, DL - 1X5. Limited accessory work. I do rotate reps and sets along the lines of 1X5, 2X3, 3X2, 5X1.

Three days per week: 30 minutes conditioning. Normally, Stairmaster without holding the handles or C2 rowing machine. I am long past the novice stage and no longer adding much (if any) LBM, I have found that it helps reduce soreness. It also helps me keep up with my children when we are hiking or running together.